Product Critique: Island Basics Sun Shield

It’s still a bit cold here in the Philippines at night till dawn until maybe February, but of course the sun isn’t in hiding at all. During the day, it is generously glowering its hotness on us mere mortals! 😛
While I appreciate living in a tropical country, I know that I have to protect my skin from the sun’s rays! I don’t want premature aging and darkening to take their toll on the largest organ of my body. Add cancer risks to that and see if it’s not scary enough to go unprotected. I admit that I didn’t consider sunblock as part of my skin regimen before, but now that I’ve realized its importance, I make sure to apply it everyday.
There are a lot of sunblock brands to choose from in the market and sure enough, a battle of the SPF ensues! Higher SPF offers better protection, so they say but I find that sunblocks with higher SPF make my skin, especially my face, feel like it is being suffocated. So I settle for SPF30 and don’t go lower than that.
Imagine my delight when I learned about Island Basics Sun Shield! I was really happy that I came across the brand and this product! I’m glad to know that my face and body is being protected by something made from natural ingredients!
Product description on the label: Naturally protects the skin from the harmful rays of the sun. 
Simple instruction: Apply to face and body. 
Ingredients: Virgin coconut oil, sweet almond oil, olive oil
Amount of product: 100 mL
Price: Php180
Loves…
  • Packaging is nice because I find products in tubes convenient to use
  • Protects my skin from sun’s harmful rays!
  • Organic product
  • Safe for the face! I love putting this on! 😛
  • Has moisturizing benefits
  • Has an herbal scent that I’ve grown used to and actually like now, ’cause I’m reminded that this sunscreen is full of good stuff
  • Has not caused breakouts so far! 😀
Grrrs…
  • None that I can think of.
Verdict: I give this product 10/10! I love all-natural products that really deliver what they promise! I encourage everyone to give this product a try. This retails for Php180 which in my opinion, is quite a steal already. Please also check out my review on Island Basics Body Butter and their Body Mist! 😀

Buy your Island Basics products now because from November 2011 until January 2012, Island Basics will be giving away one peso per item sold to the “Piso para sa KMBI” project, which is geared towards helping the environment!
Disclaimer: This product was sent to me by the company for review. The views and opinions expressed are unbiased and are purely based on my experience in using the product.

Leave a Reply

