Lippie Lovin’: MAC Betty Bright + Comparison Swatches

Hey ladies! I have for you a quick review of a lipstick from my favorite MAC collaboration/limited edition collection yet, the Archie’s Girls Collection!
I got these from Carefreeshopper. Shout out to Ms. Armie! πŸ˜€
I just loooooove this collection. I know some ladies find white packaging tacky, but I couldn’t care less as long as I have my favorite comic book characters on them! IMHO it added to the cute appeal! πŸ˜›
Yeah I got the shades with Veronica and Betty’s names in them. Online swatches helped me choose the shades as well of course. I sort of regret not getting Oh Oh Oh (a repromote as a Betty lipstick this time) and Daddy’s Little Girl (from Ronnie’s side. I can’t help remembering my father because I’m his little girl *sob, I miss you Daddy!* Plus the shade is a lovely pinky purple! There are lots of similar shades for this one from MAC and other brands though so yes it’s dupeable).

Betty vs. Veronica!
Ho-hum, ze ingredients. Betty Bright’s box on top and Ronnie Red at the bottom.
This review is for Betty Bright!
Who doesn’t love Betty? She’s the All-American girl-next-door. She’s big-hearted yet sometimes she likes to get even with Ronnie (though she usually reverts to being good; she can’t go far from her very nature to be kind and sweet heh). I wish I could be more like her! I have lots of Ronnie in me I think! πŸ˜›
Yep. Betty Bright is satin folks! The not moisturizing yet not too drying formula of MAC. I sometimes skip using lip balm because I’m bullheaded like that *smug*.
I β™₯ staring at it in its unused glory.
Betty came to me a little sweaty. (Ooh, that rhymes)Β She’s, I mean IT’s not like this anymore.
On ze lips applied lightly.
Please forgive my makeupless haggardo versoza fezlak due to reviewing for the board exams.
Two swipes this time. ☺
It’s opaque as you can see from the photo above and this one below.
Full mug.
I initially thought the shade would wash me out, but I think it works out just fine with my skintone. Whatcha think? (Am I an NC20-25? Someone enlighten me please!)
It’s described as a light vibrant peach on the website, but it obviously has some pink in it to be labeled as “peach”. It’s more of a coral pink. I guess that’s how it shows on my skintone and lip pigmentation (my lips are a bit pale most of the time hehe). Maybe wearing a pink top brought out more of the pinkness. Also, if I took the photo nearer the sunlight, the warmer coral tones would show up better, methinks. Anyway, it’s a great spring/summer color!
Here is Betty Bright compared to the other peachy pink/coral pink lipsticks in my collection. I predict that I will use this set to the point of abuse this season. πŸ˜›
Wet n Wild Pinkerbell is obviously pinker and more matte (said to be a MAC Viva Glam Nicki 1 dupe!)
Etude House Dear Darling Ultra Shine Lips in Peach Shine is peachier and of course has a different finish.
L’Oreal Colour Riche Caresse Stick in Sunset Angora is more peach as well, has a different finish.
Avon Ultra Moisture Rich Rose in Apricot Nectar Rose is similar, albeit a tad pinker. It’s a great budget similar color! I don’t have a swatch but I think Maybelline Color Sensational in Angel RoseΒ (also pinker) could also be a good alternative. What sets Betty Bright apart from the two is its “brightness” and it is lighter in color.
Barry M Lip Paint 153 Pink Ribbon looks obviously out of place. Just wanted to compare how a neutral pink looks versus a warm-toned one. πŸ˜› *excuses excuses!*
Revlon Super Lustrous Pink in the AfternoonΒ is a more subdued warm and rosy pink, has a satin finish with a bit of sheen to it. It’s one of my favorite lipsticks of all time. (nyaha OTT much)
Will I buy it again?
Definitely. I could only hope Betty Bright could make a comeback and stay for good even if MAC chooses to rename it.
There ya go!
Have you treated yourself to a product from the collection?
Are you loving it so far? ☺
P.S. It’s so darn hot in the Philippines! Summer is really here!
Kung mayaman lang ako ipina-aircon ko na buong bahay namin! πŸ˜›
Leave a Reply

