Jordana Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains

My first brush with lip crayons was with Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain (Lovesick). I wanted to collect almost all of the shades (minus the red with orange undertone, orange, pale peach ones because I generally don’t favor “corals” and “oranges” and “anything that would make me look dead”).

Among the chubby lip crayons/gloss balms/balm stains/whathaveyous that have sprouted in makeuplandia, I’d like to try Tarte LipSurgence and Clinique’Chubby Stick Moisturizing Lip Balms (their first release of sheer washes of color and the Intense line) the most though they are obviously on the expensive side. Oh, and Revlon has upped their lip crayon game with their latest offering: the Colorburst Lacquer Balms and Matte Balms! I hope to find an online seller with reasonable prices for them!

Truly, the lip crayon craze has bowled the horde of makeup enthusiasts over and I predict it won’t be ending soon. I see why. It’s a lazy girl’s dream come true. No need to sharpen (= no product wastage), just twist it up. The fact that it is a pencil makes it easier to fill the lips with color, making it less likely to go beyond the lip lines, though in time and without proper upkeep, the pointed shape would be lost. And if you happen to have the lip color – balm – gloss hybrid (with legit moisturizing prowess + you’re going for the somewhat glossy look) then dang it girl, you can just swipe it on and you’re out the door.

Let me introduce you to my newfound friends… (Yes I have a very twisted notion of friendship. One in which I consume them. Literally. Because  I eat whatever I put on my lips.)

Say hello to my Jordana Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains!

Yeah, they look like Revlon JBKBS’ retractable packaging without the silver detail on the twistable end. The concept is the same as well, with the product applying smoothly like a balm then wearing down to a stain.

Claims:

• Moisturizing Balm Infused with a Light-Weight Stain
• Applies with a Glossy Finish then Transforms into the Perfect Flush of Color
• Long-Lasting
• Retractable, No Sharpening Required
• Paraben-Free
• Made in USA

Really, I have to twist clockwise for the color to be dispensed? D’oh!

This product must be used up within 3 years. With the way I’ve been toting these babies around (and ignoring the rest of my lipstick stash), the expiration date doesn’t matter much.

Twisting up to the entire length, the product has the same amount as Revlon’s JBKBS (0.095 oz or 2.7 grams). It has a faint sweet candy smell to it, with no trace of mint that Revlon’s balm stains are famous for. There’s no distinct taste to this balm stain, and I like my lip products that way. Also, the shade number and name are printed on the tube, though everything written on the label would likely be scratched off in the long run (happened to my Revlon Lovesick).

I bought three shades from Carefreeshopper for only Php285 each. The tubes were initially sealed in plastic, assuring me that they haven’t been tested. In the US, these babies retail for $2.99 (Php130 give or take) at Walgreens outlets. Can I say affordable? But how do they fare?

Top to Bottom: Honey Love, Terra Crave, Sweet Pink
The color of the packaging corresponds to their shades, making life easier for the lipstick junkies.

Skin swatches

under natural light
Left to Right: Honey Love, Terra Crave, Sweet Pink

(not quite under sunlight)
Left to Right: Honey Love, Terra Crave, Sweet Pink

They come in eight shades, consisting of nudes, pinks, and brights. The other five are Tropical Frenzy, Cranberry Crush, Rock N Rouge, Nude Chic, and Candied Coral. I plan on getting the first three  mentioned (or four, depending on whether I deem Nude Chic a worthy purchase) and not Candied Coral, because…coral. I do hope that  Jordana will add some more shades into the mix.

I got the safest colors of the bunch. With new products, especially those that can only be bought online, it’s a little inconvenient that you can’t be sure how a certain shade would look on you. I pored over every published blog review before purchasing. Of course I had felt the need to buy three other “bolder” shades. What led me to decide buying these shades instead? The fact that I probably wouldn’t wear the bold ones as much as I would these. I’d still buy the three bolder shades. Probably. On a day when my self-control and good judgment would fly out the window.

Like the name suggests, this lip product applies like a balm and for a while there is indeed a smooth, lightweight and moisturizing layer on the lips. I appreciate that it doesn’t accentuate dry lips (meaning on a really badly chapped lips day, you can rely on it) and doesn’t feather into lines. It’s not greasy and uncomfortable on the lips at all! There’s a sheen to it but not heading to glossy goopsville. Pigmentation is superb! One light-handed swipe will give a sheer wash of color on the lips but a few passes more builds up the color. After some time it dries down to a stain which can be observed to be more pronounced for darker or brighter colors. The balmy part lasts for a few hours before it wears off and leaves a stain that could last for a long time (of course depending on your mouth’s activities and lip-licking habit). It doesn’t flake and it doesn’t leave my lips dry at the end of the day.

05 Honey Love

Oh Honey Love how I love thee! Honey Love is a rosy mauvy pink brown sort of MLBB. In person the mauvy tones are more obvious. Really pretty foolproof color. It’s said to be a dupe for Revlon Honey as THIS and THIS post seem to prove and THIS post debunks. I think they differ a few smidgens in pink tones.

Honey Love freshly applied

After 3 1/2 hours, here’s what remained on my lips. Just a teeny bit of stain methinks. Such is the case for neutral shades.

Now I shall ruthlessly distract you with this pan of pizza!

After devouring a slice plus some spaghetti, Honey Love is practically gone. (please excuse the remnants of food on my lower lip line. ugh gross)

08 Terra Crave

If you want to wear Fall on your lips, Terra Crave might help you with that. This spice shade reminds me of dried leaves in autumn. It’s work/office-friendly and something mature women would like. Not that I’m dismissing this one because I really like it!

Terra Crave freshly applied

After two hours, a visible stain remained.

I ate lunch and the stain faded. Color was left around my lip line.

02 Sweet Pink

Sweet Pink is a blue-toned bubblegum pink. I like that it’s not too bright but not boring at all.

Sweet Pink freshly applied

The stain after two hours. A tad deeper than the color when freshly applied. My lips were extra flaky that day but it’s not due to the product. My lips’ bad state was actually hidden by the balm stain but when the balm wore off, the ugly truth was revealed.

After lunch, the same fading happened with Sweet Pink as with Terra Crave.

Here’s a comparison of Jordana Twist & Shine’s packaging with Revlon JBKBS and Happy Skin Shut Up & Kiss Me (review up next!)

Top to Bottom: Happy Skin Shut Up & Kiss Me, Jordana Twist & Shine, Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain (the label has completely been erased)

Left to Right: Happy Skin SU&KM Summer Fling, Happy Skin SU&KM Crushing On You, Jordana T&S Honey Love, Jordana T&S Terra Crave, Jordana T&S Sweet Pink, Revlon JBKBS Lovesick)

After a few passes of tissue, here are the stains left. Sweet Pink and Lovesick are the brightest of the bunch, hence the stronger their stains are.

Comparison with Revlon Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain: I think Twist & Shine is more moisturizing than the Revlon ones. It applies smoother and is creamier. At the end of the day, Revlon tends to dry up my lips a bit, which doesn’t happen with Jordana’s balm stains. I like both of them though.

The only cons I could think of for this product are availability (you have to buy it through online sellers or on their website) and the number of existing shades in the line (though they have a great variety with three nudes of different undertones, two pinks, a red, a coral, and a berry). Also, it’s worth noting that the cap is less snug than that of Revlon’s so it’s best to make sure it doesn’t come off when you put it away.

Overall, I really like these. As I’ve said, I’ll probably end up getting three (or four) more shades.

If you’re wondering how some of the shades would look like on warmer skin tones head over to Ishah x Beauty’s post HERE. For complete lip swatches, you can visit posts by Pang (Beauty Redefined by Pang), Crystal (Valentine Kisses), and Emily (BeautyBroadcast.net) HERE, HERE, and HERE. If you want to see comparison swatches for Revlon and Tarte dupe possibilities, pore over Shalunya’s post HERE. In my opinion, all shades would fit most skin tones. 🙂

Has the balm stain fever stricken you as well? Do share. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Jordana Twist & Shine Moisturizing Balm Stains

  1. I haven’t tried the balm stain from jordana yet but i’ve seen many beauty bloggers in the US raving about this! and wow, it’s more moisturizing than revlon?? I already love revlon’s performance, I’ll probably love this even better. 😀

Leave a Reply

