San San CC Cream

CC cream, oh CC cream. First there was your older sister, BB cream. She gave me coverage, sun protection, and in the earlier days she broke my heart with her grayish tinge but she has yellowed over time and we were friends again. How about you, her younger sis? I’ve heard you’re sheerer, more concerned in color correction than covering and have your own chock-full of skin improving promises upon using overtime just like your big sis?

Yes, the heat has probably fried up my brain already. Anyway, this review is for one of the three CC creams I currently have in my stash, the San San CC Cream from HBC.

Brand: San San (Hortaleza M.D., of HBC)

Product Name: CC Cream SPF 30 • Vitamins A•C•E

Price: Php 190

Shadeno shade name, comes in only one shade

Scent: Powdery floral that turns sunscreen-y, lotion-y when spread (stays on for a quarter of the day on my face). Though not obnoxious.

Content: 1.01 fl.oz./30mL

Product description:

A lightweight Color Corrector Cream that evens out skin tone as it moisturizes and protects skin from harmful UV rays and free radicals.

This cosmetic product with multi-dermatological benefits is formulated with Hyaluronic Acid and Squalene to provide moisture for a healthier skin.

Product claims:

  • Color Corrector
  • Moisturizes skin
  • with Antioxidants

san20san20cc201_zpsrlusays7

20160326_082614_zpsdb1ezu0m

I actually bought this one on sale at HBC Baclaran a couple of months ago. I forgot the exact price though. *peace* Lot number, manufacturing date, and expiration date are indicated on the box (good for two years). 

I’ve tried out their BB Cream before and I’ve forgotten where it is now, if I’ve given it away to a friend or a relative and unfortunately, I’ve also forgotten to review it as well as my experience with said product. Way to go. Anyway, I’ve mentioned it because the CC cream has the same packaging as their BB cream, with pump and all.

san20san20cc202_zpsjos7wgmj

The product has a thin, creamy consistency that is quite easy to blend. It dries down not too quickly that it can’t be maneuvered around the skin for better spreading and coverage. It comes in only one shade that has a pink tone which I find to brighten (and whiten) as opposed to the grayish tint BB creams have due to addition of pigment. I do think pale, fair and medium-skinned ladies would benefit from this while deeper skin toned gals would shy away from this.

san20san20cc203_zpszzzekhrs

It did a good job at evening out my skin tone and taming the red areas. The photos with the product on clearly show my brightened (and whitened) up face which is different from my neck and body that are obviously yellower. It is one of those lightweight, non-sticky yet moisturizing products that are heaven-sent to us who live in tropical countries. This is a local brand though, and I appreciate that San San understands our woes. I hope that extends to shade selection though.

san20san20cc204_zpsbf0ipjf5

The CC cream offers light coverage though it lends a bit more to conceal the redness of my pimple. The natural, matte-in-the-CC-cream-way finish stays on for a long time before I oil up on my T-zone (I blotted on the 4th hour) and not a significant oiling up at that. I couldn’t believe it either that no “hulas” feeling occurs throughout the day whenever I have this on.

san20san20cc205_zps7lxxwsml

Though I haven’t observed product transfer on the oil blotting sheet, I did notice that the coverage does fade out (consequently taming down my bright and white face gradually) as the hours pass. Majority of the product was still removed after cleaning up my face with makeup remover. I know this for a fact since I didn’t set my face with any sort of powder for this review.

LOVEs…

  • Functional packaging
  • Affordable at Php 190 for 30 mL (Php 6.33/mL)
  • Product description, ingredients list, manufacturing date and expiration date are printed on the box
  • Has sun protection (SPF 30)
  • Moisturizing and contains good stuff such as hyaluronic acid, squalene, Vitamins A, C & E
  • Easy to spread and blend
  • Evens out and brightens up skin tone and covers redness
  • Lightweight,not sticky
  • Does not require setting powder. Might be needed to tone down the whiteness though. To color correct the color corrector, oh the irony.
  • Very good oil control
  • Doesn’t become a crumbling, oily mess throughout the day

OH OKAYs…

  • Light coverage (might be buildable to medium which I haven’t tried but I like to wear it with one layer) and can mildly cover blemishes
  • Does not suit deeper skin tones

GRRRs…

  • Scent stays on my face for a long time

Will I repurchase? Yes. Best CC cream I’ve tried so far.

Know the latest about San San and other HBC products by visiting/following their website, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Fun Fact: Rachel K, a Singaporean brand, was the first to launch a product touted as CC cream. I am keeping this in mind as I definitely want to try it in the future.

3 thoughts on “San San CC Cream

  1. Great review! I haven’t had so much luck with bases from San San before. I’d love to try the CC cream but I don’t think it would work for my morena skin tone.
    -Ghia of candidlyghia.com

Leave a Reply

